How Has Martial Arts Helped Better Your Life?

I can remember when I was a young boy, I was always in awe of the Martial Arts.  As I’m sure many of you can relate, Saturday afternoons in the winter were usually spent in front of the TV watching Kung Fu Theater.  This was my first exposure to Bruce Lee, and man was I impressed!  It was so cool!  As far as I was concerned, there was nothing more entertaining than watching a fight scene from a Bruce Lee movie.  That is when I first developed a thirst for Martial Arts.

Unfortunately, I never took any Martial Arts classes until I got out of college.  It always seemed that there was never any time to fit it into my life.  I was already playing hockey in the fall and winter, and baseball in the spring and summer, both of which I took quite seriously.  Between school and sports, I just could not make it work.  However, I never forgot about the Martial Arts.  I had always planned to eventually get involved with it some day.  Once I graduated from college, one of the first things I did was enroll in a Martial Arts program.

I can honestly say that this was the best personal decision that I have ever made for myself.  The Martial Arts has helped me in all areas of my life.  Physically, the Martial Arts have helped me stay fit and healthy through my entire adult life.  I have developed strength and flexibility that I would not have had without the Martial Arts.  Martial Arts not only has made me strong and flexible, but has helped to make me aware of my own physical limitations.  I have also developed the ablility to defend myself much more effectively if necessary, since I started training in Martial Arts.

Mentally, the Martial Arts has helped me gain the discipline to set goals and the perseverance to do my best to achieve them without giving up, no matter what obstacles get in the way.  I have also developed a greater ability to handle and solve problems without getting distracted.

Spiritually, the Martial Arts have helped me to realize that we must be sensitive to other human beings.  You realize when you train with other people how important it is to give them the respect of your own restraint, caution and control so you do not injure them, and vice versa.  You then develop an awareness that you are in a microcosm of your entire world, and that all human beings should be treated with the same type of sensitivity and respect.  Martial Arts has also helped me to develop a greater sense of confidence to stand up for what I believe in.  Martial Arts has directed me to follow a path with an eye towards the good of the world.

These are just a few of the ways that Martial Arts has helped make my life better.

How has Martial Arts helped to make your life better?  I would love to read some of your comments!

Keep up the good fight!

Leave a comment

Filed under General Martial Arts Topics

Leave a Reply

